Good Pratice

The week you start the finals at college is the week you can’t help to come back to that old blog you left behind, that one you once hoped will have an entry every day. And by “you” I mean “me.”

A few months back I entered the education field, or in other words, I accepted a job teaching English to kids, from kindergarten to sixth grade.  And before I continue further, it is important to clarify that I am not a kid’s person, nor English is my first language.  In Paraguay, where I live, people speak Spanish and Guarani (but, in general, a mix of both languages).  Not even in the countries that surround Paraguay English is spoken, so, please, bear with me whenever I make mistakes here.  I am learning just like the kids at school.

Recently, I also took a job teaching adults, beginners of course.  In this case, I am just a substitute, but, I love it.  And this is what I want to do.

I am so eager to join a one year specialization on Pedagogia Universitaria next year; so, I am hoping, wishing, and working on ideas to make it happen, since teaching doesn’t pay much and I don’t want to leave college, it is going to be a challenge.

I will have to be brief and boring today, I need to go back to study.  But, no worries for I am taking notes of all the things I want to write about… and hell yeah: in English.  It will be good practice for you and me…. or was it you and I?

About Cecilia Duarte

in a constant epistemic vertigo
This entry was posted in Divagues, NNEST, Paraguay, Teaching and Learning, Ya Wha'?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

